# **OUR TRUSTEES AND ADVISORY BOARD**

Three Trustees are responsible for the allocation of Appeal funds to support earthquake recovery initiatives. An Advisory Board comprised of Canterbury community representatives has provided the Trustees with additional local perspective and advice on specific proposals.

A small secretariat within the Department of Internal Affairs administers the Trust. The secretariat is led by Paul Swallow and during 2013/14 included Vanessa Lowe, Lucy Moore, Marnie Woodd, Paul Houliston and Keryn Martin.

Vice-

# **Trustees**

**Dr Rod Carr** (appointed 6 April 2011) Chancellor, University of Canterbury

Prior to his appointment as Vice-Chancellor, Dr Rod Carr was managing director of Jade Software Corporation Ltd. His distinguished career in the banking sector has included holding the position of Acting Governor of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and Senior Executive at the National Australia Bank in Melbourne, Australia. He is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management, holds directorships of several private and public companies and is now the chair of the Reserve Bank Board of Directors.

**Colin MacDonald** (appointed 16 April 2012) Secretary for Internal Affairs

Colin MacDonald is Chief Executive, Secretary for Internal Affairs, Secretary for Local Government and Government Chief Information Officer. He commenced the role 16 April 2012. Before that, Colin was Chief Executive of Land Information New Zealand. Colin has more than 30 years experience in information technology and general management in both New Zealand and United Kingdom and was previously Deputy Commissioner Business Development and Systems at Inland Revenue and Chief Operating Officer for the ANZ Banking Group (NZ).

**Gabriel Makhlouf** (appointed 1 June 2011) Secretary to the Treasury

Gabriel (Gabs) Makhlouf was appointed to the position of Secretary to The Treasury in June 2011. In this role, Gabs is Chief Executive of one of the key central agencies of the New Zealand Government, and operates as its chief economic, financial and regulatory advisor. He arrived in New Zealand from the United Kingdom in March 2010 to join the Treasury as Deputy Chief Executive. His career in the UK included positions at HM Revenue & Customs, HM Treasury and the Inland Revenue. He has chaired the world's main tax-ruling body at the OECD and was Principal Private Secretary to the UK Chancellor of the Exchequer, Gordon Brown.





# **Advisory Board**

An Advisory Board of Canterbury community representatives has provided the Trustees with local perspective and advice on specific proposals.



#### Chair: Jane Huria (CNZM)

Jane Huria is Ngai Tahu and affiliates to Ngai Tuahuriri. Jane holds directorships in a number of public and private sector organisations, including Deputy Chair, Electoral Commission; board member, Naylor Love Construction, Unimed, Fortuna Group, Heritage Farms and Pegasus Health. She is also a Trustee of Winter Games (New Zealand) and the Court Theatre; and a Lay Member, Health Practitioners' Disciplinary Tribunal.

#### Deputy Chair: Justin Murray

Justin Murray is Managing Director of Murray & Co., a merchant banking firm based in Christchurch. His career has been spent in the finance and investment profession in NZ and UK. Justin is also a Crown-appointed Director of Christchurch International Airport, is a Fellow of the Board of Governors of Christ's College and is a certified member of the Institute of Finance Professionals NZ.

## David Close

David Close, an eastern-suburbs resident, was a member of the Christchurch City Council from 1977 to 2001. He is a former staff member of Christchurch Boys' High School. He is also a trustee of the Hamlin Trust NZ, which supports an ongoing project to assist women in Ethiopia who suffer from horrific birth injuries.

## Anthony Rimell

Anthony Rimell is currently Pastor at Riccarton Baptist Church, in West Christchurch. Prior to this role, Anthony was Pastor of the Breezes Road Baptist Church in East Christchurch and closely involved in earthquake relief and recovery work in Avondale, Wainoni and Aranui.

#### Ros Burdon (CNZM)

Ros Burdon, a former Chair of the Canterbury Medical Research Foundation, has served on many arts boards including as Chair of the Arts Foundation, as Board Member of Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New Zealand, founding Chair of the Christchurch Arts Festival, Chair of the major gifts fundraising committee of the Christchurch Art Gallery and serving on the Board of Canterbury Opera. She is at present on the Board of the Royal New Zealand Ballet. She was awarded CNZM for services to arts and the community in 2002.

## Pamela Richardson (MNZM)

Pam has a sound understanding of the issues affecting rural communities and extensive knowledge of what works well. She is a Board member of the Rural Canterbury Primary Health Organisation and Chairman of the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board, a trustee of the Banks Peninsula Conservation Trust, a trustee of the North Canterbury Rural Support Trust, a past Trustee of the Canterbury Community Trust and a past Provincial President of North Canterbury Federated Farmers. Pam received the Insignia of a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2010 for services to conservation and the community.

#### Tane Norton (MNZM)

Rangitane Will "Tane" Norton was born in Waikari, Canterbury and is a former All Black captain. He is a Board Member of the Charitable Trust for Critical Rugby Injuries. In 2006, Norton was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the annual New Zealand Honours List.